What reading Keats does to me…

3

February 25, 2012 by Kristen

“I have met with women whom I really think would like to be married to a Poem and to be given away by a Novel.” -John Keats

I think I’ll marry a writer.

Or a reader.

A reader and a writer?

No…no.

Maybe just an appreciator. A lover of language. Someone who values the stringing together of words in this language of ours. Those feeble attempts to capture a snapshot of the soul. We try to write it down, but we never get it quite right. Pages crumpled up and discarded, or worn through with furious cross-offs and continual eraser marks. But that doesn’t stop us from trying. Speaking often involves stumbling. The mouth moves faster than the mind. I need to revise, reconsider, rework. And it’s still never what I want…but it’s as close as I can get.

I think I’ll marry someone who writes.

And reads.

Definitely a reader and a writer.

Yes. Of course, yes.

But I could live with just an appreciator. Like me. Someone who has felt the frustration of wanting to paint a sunrise, using only language. Wanting to create warmth with a single word. Who has faced the intimidating permanence of print or the daunting blank page. Someone who has felt entirely lost in a novel, avoiding being found on that last page.

I think…

3 thoughts on “What reading Keats does to me…

  1. Lizzie says:

    LOVE THIS. I’d also love to marry an appreciator 🙂

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I love this, too! I completely identify with the last paragraph. I need to find me an appreciator to marry, for sure.

  3. G Fresh says:

    I agree with all of this. The best* relationship I’ve had thus far was with a girl who loved getting and giving letters/notes/cards/etc. Anything in handwritten form. I’m not the best speaker in the world as my brain tends to move faster than my mouth, so I much prefer to sit down and order my thoughts into a more cohesive written form; i.e. my blog, an e-mail, a note, etc.

    *Best being a relative term as aside from our mutual love of the written language we weren’t really all that great for each other. However, I’ve yet to find her equal in that medium; at least not one that blossomed into anything more than friendship.

Leave a Comment

