Dialogue with Dad III

4

December 16, 2011 by Kristen

Enjoy another installment of meaningful* quotes straight from the mouth of my father. If you’re new to the “dialogue,” I present you with this portrait of my father–he is a combination of: Tim Allen, George Bailey, Phil Dunphy, and Adam Braverman. (best.Dad.combo.ever)

*looking at pictures of the MSU basketball game played on an aircraft carrier*
Dad: I’ve been there!
Me: You’ve been on the aircraft carrier that disposed of Osama Bin Laden?!
Dad: Yeah…I pushed him over! I said, “Hey Bin, come over here and look at this seagull!” And he said, “*insert unidentifiable accent here*” And I gave him a swift kick in the butt!
Me: You have problems.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
*After my failed attempts to get the treadmill to start*
Me: How did you get it to go?!
Dad: I’m the dad.
*starts running with arms outstretched as if flying*
Dad: Look at that man on the treadmill! He’s running like Superman! He must be a…SuperDad!
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
*opens my bedroom door and peeks in*
Dad: Want to know what I want for Christmas?
Me: You already said you didn’t want anything.
Dad: I changed my mind. I would like a long robe.
Me: Like Scrooge’s?
Dad: Yes. But on mine, I want an oak tree. And the rest of you can get robes with little acorns on them. Because I am the Mighty Oak, and you are all the little acorns.
Me: I don’t think so Dad.
*later, after I’ve returned home from Christmas shopping*
Dad: Did you find my robe?
Me:  Well, here’s the deal: I found some with pine trees…and even a weeping willow, but no oak trees.
Mom: You could be the Great Pine?
Dad: No. Mighty Oak.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Go find your Dad a floor length robe with an oak tree embroidered on it for Christmas. It’s what he wants.
*despite the crazy stuff my dad says, I also want to add that he is a wealth of wisdom. He is my go-to-guy for any Bible question & he always has an answer. I recently asked if he would be the Paul to my Timothy
4 thoughts on “Dialogue with Dad III

  1. Mandie Marie says:

    I bet you could find one on Etsy.

  2. I like that your dad called him Bin.

  3. lheathman says:

    These seriously crack me up…i can totally hear him in my head saying these 🙂

  4. […] my dad  has still been awesome during my hiatus. Enjoy. Check out his other quotable quotes here, here, here, and […]

Leave a Comment

