Monday Playlist: Christmas Edition

6

November 28, 2011 by Kristen

It’s officially my favorite time of year! Here’s a portion of what’s on my “Christmas Magic” playlist this holiday season. 

1. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas–Andrew Belle
This is amazing. Put this on your ipod right now and go take a walk in the snow.  

2. Song for Winter’s Night–Sarah McLachlan
Beautiful. Melts my heart. 

3. I Celebrate the Day–Relient K
“I celebrate the day, that You were born to die, so I could one day pray for You to save my life.” What Christmas is about.

4. Adore Him–Kari Jobe
Sounds uncannily like Hold Onto Hope Love, but I love that song & this one too

5. Snow Globe–Matt Wertz
I also sometimes wish I lived in a snow globe. 

6. Melodies of Christmas–David Archuleta
Cheesy. Love it. I am a sucker for any Christmas song where children sing.

7. Christmas Without You–One Republic
This is depressing. But it’s One Republic, so…

8. Christmas Canon–Trans Siberian Orchestra
Can someone please invite me to a magical winter wedding? 

9. Christmas This Year–Toby Mac
Fun.

10. Christmas Day–Michael W. Smith feat. Mandisa
Any Michael W. Smith Christmas song is always great. 

11. Auld Lang Syne–Ben Rector
I adore this song because of It’s a Wonderful Life. 

12. Wintersong–Sara Bareilles & Ingrid Michaelson
I first heard this song 3 years ago. Thought the words were, “Is love a lie?” Perfect. ha ha. Great song nonetheless.

13. Meet Me at the Mistletoe–Dave Barnes
Dave Barnes & Matt Wertz both have great Christmas albums.

14. Christmas Baby–Michael Buble
Can there even be a Christmas playlist without some Buble

15. The First Noel/Mary Mary–Sarah McLachlan
This song has the coolest vibe. ah-mazing!

If-I-had-to-pick-a- favorite:
Christmastime–Michael W. Smith
Pure magic. I will never get sick of this song. 

Now, how do you feel about the song Christmas Shoes??

6 thoughts on “Monday Playlist: Christmas Edition

  1. I was getting nervous as I read this that there would be no Buble, but then I saw Christmas Baby and all was well in this world again. 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    So, my playlist sounds a lot like yours. I have the OneRepublic song this year, Snowglobe, and Toby Mac, and Wintersong is from last year’s mix. As for Christmas Cannon, I hope to someday walk down the aisle to that song…

    And Christmas shoes? The mention of the name sent me into dry heaves. My mother, however, has a special love for the song. I may be adopted based solely on that fact.

    • Kristen says:

      Isn’t Snowglobe great? Love the album.

      I don’t mind Christmas shoes, but so many people just loathe it! It cracks me up how strongly people feel about it.

  3. The problem with Christmas Shoes is that it’s nauseatingly maudlin for no good reason. I can handle small amounts of that if it occurs for the purpose of proclaiming the birth of Christ. (However, I do prefer to avoid it altogether.) But that song is just a sappy — and, as far as I can tell, completely fictional — story that concludes by saying the person has remembered what Christmas is all about…but NEVER ACTUALLY MAKES A POINT TO TELL ANYONE ELSE WHAT CHRISTMAS IS ALL ABOUT. The birth of our savior, Jesus Christ, the Son of God? You know, the entire basis of the holiday? Not only does it not get the spotlight, but it doesn’t even get invited to the freakin’ theater.

    So yeah, I hate it because it manages to be sickeningly cheesy AND devoid of any meaningful content, all while trying to be serious and sentimental.

    In other words, it’s like all the worst Christian movies ever made.

  4. lheathman says:

    LOVE your Christmas playlist! December Night is also a really good one by Michael Buble 🙂

Leave a Comment

