Monday playlist. 8/29

10

August 29, 2011 by Kristen

Woohoo–it’s Monday. But for me, it’s a fateful Monday. An ominous Monday. My own Ides of March, if you will. I am back to the grad. school grind and this time, I will be consumed with classes and student teaching until June 2012. Blog, I shall see you then! Just kidding…sorta.

So it’s back to walking on campus with my headphones in, despite warnings from Campus Security about an attacker that is either bald or has dread locks. (Because that description is not contradictory at all.)

Music is the salve for my soul during these hard times; have some. You’re welcome.

1. In Spite of Me-Greg Laswell
I like this cover. 

2. Manhattan– Mozella
I’ve always wanted to pack up and move to NY—just for one year of my life.

3. Down-Jason Walker

4. Stay Sound– Steve Moakler
Last summer I saw this dude play in a park in my hometown, then a few weeks later at St. Andrew’s Hall (with Iver & Parker Welling) —major talent crush ensued.  Here’s a throwback in honor of his new album coming out tomorrow! 

5. Kiss Quick– Matt Nathanson

6. Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise– The Avett Brothers

Get-Pumped-for-College-Football Song(s) of the Week:

Your Hand in Mine– Explosions in the Sky

Titans Spirit (Score)- Trevor Rabin
All-time fav. 

Forever I’m a Spartan– Some MSU dudes

Tryouts Theme-Rudy

The Finals– Jerry Goldsmith
(Hoosiers. Epic movie. Not about football. But this is my blog, so it’s fine.)

Guys, college football starts on Saturday! Go Green, GO WHITE!  Remember when these plays happened?– Little Giants & Mouse Trap. Ballers. Or when Gerard Butler came to campus?

((And this song. (warning:this song contains mucho offensive language) However, if you went to MSU, you’re used to it you  can’t help but love lines like “I be jumpin’ like a Mexican, I know where my border at, yeah I be ballin, Kirk Cousins is my quarterback,” “Tell that girl Ann Arbor, I don’t wanna be her man” and “We all in East Lansing, my swagga’s outstanding.” Stay classy, EL. I miss you. ))

10 thoughts on “Monday playlist. 8/29

  1. Kristin says:

    Great playlist this week, but….

    Go BLUE!

  2. Knox McCoy says:

    I look forward to this post every Monday so hard.

  3. Maybe the attacker is balding and has a dreadlock combover.

    Yes, let your imagination feast on that image.

  4. Jamie says:

    We’re music sisters. Love that list.

    P.S. Thank you for talking about college football – too much NFL chatter around the blogosphere for my tastes. I wish you and MSU an undefeated season and Big 10 title. May their only defeat be at the hands of Alabama or another SEC team in the National Championship. 🙂

  5. I Love the college football playlist…especially the Remember the Titans reference…it embodies all that is football 🙂

    I had to download Manhattan…really like this song 🙂

    • Kristen says:

      Count me in for any of those Heathman family State football tickets 😉 You’ve REALLY got the in now with that whole married-into-the-fam thang you’ve got going

Leave a Comment

