Let’s do some heartbreak warfare

2

August 11, 2011 by Kristen

Sometimes my heart gets troubled, and by sometimes, I mean more than I’d like. It’s just part of the human condition.

The tried-and-true remedies:

Psalm 61:2: “From the ends of the earth I cry unto You, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” Recalling this verse should always be my first “go-to,” but sometimes it’s not. Instead, I have the tendency to shut down. “Get down on your knees before the Master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet.” So true.
Must haves: Pumpkin Spice candle. Silk pillowcase. Passion 2011 soundtrack on repeat. Prayer journal. 

Panera* chats. There is one particular Panera in my home-town that has been the spot for some major heart-to-heart conversations. “Panera chat?” is a typical text message both sent and received between my girlfriends. I always feel so much better after these talks–there really is something to that whole “bearing each other’s burdens” thing.
Must havesBest friends who are just as imperfect as you, but are striving to fight the good fight & finish the race. Cinnamon crunch bagel, but nothing to drink–because coffee is a diuretic & bathroom breaks are pretty disruptive when someone is baring their soul and stuff.
*or my living room couch. that thing has endured many a late-night chat sesh.

-Dance party.  Just dance it out. Seriously, do it.
Must havesAppropriate tunage. I last danced it out to “I Got You” by Leona Lewis while unloading the dishwasher. It was pretty epic. This coping mechanism is most effective when no one is in the house–because observers can lead to shaming, and then you’re right back where you started.

Work it out. This fits with the dance party. Generally, you can’t just punch horrible people or situations in the face, because as my AP gov. teacher once quoted, “The right to swing my fist ends where the other man’s nose begins.”  (And situations don’t have faces. duh.) So. Use a punching bag instead. Run until your body hurts more than your heart. Or, do Zumba until the latin-infused beats cause  increased levels of exercise-induced endorphins that take you to a heightened state of euphoria—then nothing else exists. (Exercise is how suburban white girls get high.)
Must haves: Athletic footwear. Moderate to advanced stamina depending on your level of heartache. 

Angsty playlist. This is usually not the greatest idea. But would I be a girl if I didn’t have a playlist of gut-wrenching songs that make one want to curl up in a ball and have a good cry? (…I would probably still be a girl, actually.) This can be helpful at first, but if “sad playlist” is constantly your go-to, that’s not very productive for the whole moving-on thing.
Must haves: A soul. This doesn’t really work otherwise. Having a microwaveable stuffed pig to cuddle with is helpful too. (Oh no, my microwaveable stuffed pig obsession is starting to creep into this blog too!)

Kroger parking lot. Okay, this one is going to seem odd–but stick with me. My sister and I used to hate going to the grocery store. Soccer moms ramming us with their shopping carts, confused dads starting listlessly at their grocery list, old people shopping alone making you want to cry…So, sometimes we would drive to the parking lot of our local Kroger, and just sit there—relishing in the fact that we did not have to cross that sliding-door threshold and deal with the suburban masses. Also, you know how sometimes you get upset, hop in your car, and just drive off! Then you realize…uh…where am I going? The Kroger parking lot.
Must haves: Kroger. Specifically Kroger, or else I’m pretty sure this doesn’t work. 

What are some other “remedies” for those heart-troubling times?

2 thoughts on “Let’s do some heartbreak warfare

  1. i DEFINITELY agree with the Pumpkin Spice Canle and Panera trips. Although sometimes it was nice just to go myself in the fall/winter with a good devotional book, Bible and journal in hand.

  2. Knox McCoy says:

    Confused Dad staring at his grocery list? Guilty.

    “Organic Skim milk is non-fat…unless it’s low fat…or is there a organic skim option?”

Leave a Comment

