Light in her eyes

Leave a comment

July 20, 2011 by Kristen

I think it’s only fitting that my first post explain the title of my blog, “Light in Her Eyes.” It is an excerpt from one of my favorite poems by Gary Soto, called “Oranges.”

My favorite line in the poem reads: “Light in her eyes, a smile starting at the corners of her mouth.” It is simple. It is complex. This line captures my relationship with language and writing. It parallels my life. I get such a vivid mental picture when I read this line–I can picture the young girl with such a sweetness and luminosity, smiling one of those slow smiles that make the recipient feel all warm and tingly inside.

All of that from one line? Yes, writing is powerful. Language is beautiful.

Many people have lost the light in their eyes. Perhaps someone stole the sparkle in one careless act of betrayal. Maybe life wreaked its usual havoc, leaving dull emptiness in exchange for the light.

I don’t know where life is going to take me–where I’ll end up. This blog is intended to chronicle some of that journey. I do know one thing, I’ll never lose the light in my eyes. It can’t be put out. But how can I be so sure? Because any illumination is a gift from my Creator. My hope in Him is enough to keep that light burning forever.

I can only pray that others see the light in my eyes. And recognize that something is different.

Leave a Comment

